Skip to main content
Institute for Social Vision Design

¥70–80 Million per Legislator: Salary, Allowances, JR Passes, and the Full Cost of Japan's Diet Members

Naoya Yokota
About 9 min read

Statutory pay is ~¥21.91M, but add allowances, secretaries, Diet housing, JR passes, and party subsidies and the annual public cost per legislator reaches ¥70–80M. The 2025 reform kept legislative research expenses and JR-pass values opaque. An independent review body — not seat cuts — is the missing piece.

TL;DR

  1. Statutory compensation including the ¥1.294M monthly salary and ~¥6.38M annual bonuses totals ~¥21.91M per year.
  2. The former Document/Communication Allowance (¥1M/month) now requires disclosure of spending above ¥10,000 (from August 2025), but legislative research expenses (¥650,000/month) remain undisclosed.
  3. Combined with three publicly funded secretaries, housing subsidies, JR passes, and party subsidies, the per-member public cost is roughly ¥70–80 million per year.
  4. Japan has the world's third-highest parliamentary salaries but ranks 36th in the OECD for members per capita — a structural asymmetry.
  5. The comparison with ¥260 school lunches is not an emotional argument but a framework for budgetary prioritization.

What Is Happening

The full picture of "hidden compensation" that emerged after the 2025 Allowance reform

Debate over Diet member compensation has long collapsed into a surface argument about whether ¥1.29 million per month is "too high" or "about right." The real question is different: how much public money is actually invested per member beyond the salary, and how much of it is disclosed.

On August 1, 2025, the amended Diet Members' Salary Act took effect. For the Research, Public Relations, and Stay Expense (formerly the Document/Communication/Transportation/Stay Expense), Article 9 of the Act now requires members to file a report of the amount received and how it was spent, attach copies of receipts, have that report and those copies published, and return any unspent balance.

Where the line falls is set by regulations agreed between the Speakers of both houses. Spending above ¥10,000 must be itemised in the report with payee, purpose, amount, and date, and stays published for three years. Receipt copies are likewise attached only for spending above ¥10,000; anything at or below that threshold is disclosed only after a request, when the Speaker orders the member to produce it.

The lag between filing and visibility is long, however. Reports are compiled as of December 31 each year and filed with the Speaker by May 31 of the following year. The Speaker publishes them by November 30 of the year they were filed. So the first report covering payments from August 2025 will not appear until the end of November 2026. The decision to open the black box has been made; seeing inside comes later.

At the same time, the Legislative Research Expenses (¥650,000/month, ¥7.8 million/year per member) paid to the same members carry no reporting obligation; neither the gap between Diet member housing and market rent nor the monetary equivalent of the free JR pass is disclosed. This article organizes the full picture of "visible" and "invisible" compensation with statutory backing, and identifies where the debate should go next.

Monthly salary~¥1.3M
Bonus~¥6.35M/yr
Research/PR allowance¥1M/mo
Legislative office expenses¥650K/mo
JR pass & flightsFree
Lawmakers' residence~¥100K/mo
Generally knownLess visible
Diet Member Compensation — Visible vs. Hidden

Background & Context

Legal basis and amounts for salary, bonus, legislative research expenses, housing, JR passes, secretaries, and party subsidies

The Structure of Statutory Compensation

The governing law is the Act on the Salary, Travel, and Allowances of Members of the Diet (Act No. 80 of 1947). Article 35 of the Diet Act sets the floor — a salary not less than the highest general-service civil-servant salary — and Article 1 of the Salary Act sets the amounts: the Speaker receives ¥2,170,000, the Vice-Speaker ¥1,584,000, and each member ¥1,294,000 as a monthly salary. The member figure is the same in both chambers, equivalent to ¥15,528,000 per year.

On top of this, year-end bonuses are paid twice a year, totaling approximately ¥6.38 million annually (¥3.19 million each in June and December), bringing statutory compensation to roughly ¥21.91 million per year. In December 2025, the amended Salary Act passed the upper house, holding bonuses at their current level. An initially proposed ¥50,000 monthly raise was dropped under public pressure and survived only as a non-binding clause in the supplementary provisions.

As the analysis site National Diet Blog University notes, under the interpretation of Article 49 of the Constitution, members continue to receive their salary even when arrested, indicted, or detained — a feature that distinguishes them from other public servants.

The Former Allowance and Legislative Research Expenses

The Research, Public Relations, and Stay Expense, grounded in Article 9 of the Salary Act, is ¥1 million per month (¥12 million annually, tax-exempt). The 2022 revision renamed it from "Document/Communication/Transportation/Stay Expense" and expanded its purpose from "official document mailing and communications of a public nature" to "research, public relations, citizen engagement, and stay activities related to national affairs." Pro-rata payment for newly elected members was introduced at the same time.

The August 2025 reform is a step forward but incomplete. Only spending above ¥10,000 appears in the report; anything at or below that threshold surfaces only when someone requests it and the Speaker orders the member to produce receipts. The Chugoku Shimbun argues that this line leaves spending at or below ¥10,000 effectively a black box. Broad definitions of "research," "public relations," and "citizen engagement" leave room for the Allowance to function as a de facto second salary.

The Legislative Research Expenses are grounded in the Act on Legislative Research Expenses (Act No. 52 of 1953), which pays ¥650,000 per member per month to parliamentary groups. Although formally paid to groups, even a one-member group can receive it if registered as a political organization. As Information Disclosure Clearinghouse notes, there is no reporting obligation and no need to file with the Ministry of Internal Affairs. It has long been criticized as effectively functioning as untraced funds.

Diet Member Housing and JR Passes

Akasaka Diet Member Housing (House of Representatives, Minato-ku Akasaka, built 2007, mostly 3LDK units) charges ¥124,652 per month. Shimizudani Housing (House of Councillors, Chiyoda-ku Kioicho, built 2020) charges ¥158,006 for 3LDK units and ¥109,239 for 1LDK. Market rent for comparable 3LDK units around Akasaka Station (newer than 15 years, over 80㎡) runs from ¥500,000 to over ¥1 million per month — four to eight times the Diet housing rate.

Monetized, this gap represents ¥4–10 million per member per year in publicly funded housing subsidy. Since "stay" is already a named purpose within the former Allowance, the overlap is frequently criticized as a de facto double benefit.

The free JR pass, grounded in Article 10 of the Salary Act, lets members choose one of three options: (1) JR pass only, (2) JR pass plus three round-trip air tickets per month, or (3) four round-trip air tickets per month. The per-member monetary equivalent is not disclosed. The annual total paid across all members has been dropped: the magazine article cited is paywalled beyond its first page, and no figure appears in the publisher's accessible text or in official material.

Publicly Funded Secretaries and Party Subsidies

Under the Act on Salaries of Secretaries to Members of the Diet, each member may employ three publicly funded secretaries at state expense (policy secretary, first public secretary, second public secretary). The starting salary of a policy secretary is at least ¥457,080 per month, and the combined cost of three secretaries places an annual public burden of ¥16.8–25 million per member.

Party subsidies, based on the Political Party Subsidies Act (Act No. 5 of 1994), are funded at ¥250 per citizen and distributed to each party. The 2024 total was ¥31.536 billion; 2025 is roughly the same level. Divided evenly across approximately 713 members (465 in the lower house plus 248 in the upper house), this equates to about ¥44.23 million per member per year of public money flowing through parties. The Japanese Communist Party has refused the subsidy since its inception.

Per-Member Grand Total

Stacking salary, bonuses, the former Allowance, legislative research expenses, secretary costs, housing-market gaps, JR-pass equivalents, and allocated party subsidies, the annual public cost per Diet member reaches roughly ¥70–80 million. The ¥21.91 million statutory figure is less than a third of the true total.

Reading the Structure

Not the binary cut-vs-preserve debate, but independent review on the UK IPSA model as a third axis

How to Handle the "¥2,500 Bento" Narrative

During 2025–2026, a claim circulated on social media that "Diet meeting box lunches cost ¥2,500 per head." This article's position is not to treat that claim as fact. The House of Representatives Accounting Overview records meeting costs and committee expenses as national investigation costs, but does not disclose per-bento unit prices. The Diet cafeteria is known to offer "Diet bento" at ¥1,000–¥1,600.

That a ¥2,500 bento appeared in some specific meeting cannot be ruled out, but interpreting it as "members routinely eat ¥2,500 taxpayer-funded lunches" is overreach. At the same time, meeting costs for parliamentary-group gatherings may be drawn from legislative research expenses or party subsidies — and because their uses are not disclosed, the situation is structurally unverifiable. This article treats "the structure of unverifiable meeting expenses" as the real issue, not the truth of the ¥2,500 figure.

The Contrast with the ¥260 School Lunch

In FY 2023, average school lunch fees at public elementary schools were ¥4,688 per month or about ¥234 per meal; junior high schools averaged ¥5,367 per month or about ¥256 per meal. The "¥260" in this article's title reflects the junior-high figure.

If the annual per-member public cost is taken as ¥70 million and annual working hours as 2,000, the hourly rate works out to roughly ¥35,000. A ¥260 school lunch equals about 27 seconds of a Diet member's hourly rate. Various estimates place the national cost of free school lunches for all elementary and junior high students at roughly ¥500 billion — equivalent to 16 years of the ¥31.5 billion party subsidies.

This contrast should not be read as an emotional appeal. Read as a framework for budgetary prioritization, the question "trimming 1% of a Diet member's hidden compensation equals how many children's school lunches?" can become a meaningful unit for policy debate.

Seat Reduction, or Transparency?

Japan has roughly 3.7–3.8 lower-house members per million people, ranking 36th among 38 OECD countries — only the United States and Colombia have fewer. Each Japanese member represents about 175,000 people, thinner than the UK (46,000) or Germany (119,000). At the same time, Japanese parliamentary salaries rank third in the world, behind only Singapore and Nigeria.

The Japan Innovation Party has championed "self-cutting reform" — a 20% cut to salaries and bonuses plus seat reduction. Japan Innovation Party: Cut from Ourselves frames this as politicians moving from "status" to "profession" and has drawn support as an engine for administrative reform. On the other hand, as a Nikkei commentary argues, salary cuts risk producing a "richification of politics" in which only the wealthy or those with second careers can enter, and seat reduction introduces its own problem of shrinking representation.

The third axis this article proposes is independent review, modeled on the UK's IPSA (Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority). In the UK, IPSA audits and publishes all member expenses; in Germany, the approximately €4,583 monthly expense is in principle reimbursed against receipts. In the US, office budgets and staff salaries are separately managed with rigorous receipt-keeping. Beyond the binary of "cut or preserve," institutionalizing independent audit and full disclosure of expenses is the realistic path to fulfilling the fiscal-democracy requirement of Article 83 of the Constitution.

The 2025 Allowance reform was a step in that direction. The next focal points are disclosure of legislative research expenses, market-linked pricing for Diet member housing, and the establishment of an independent body to audit expenses. Only after "hidden compensation" becomes visible does the cut-or-preserve debate start to carry real meaning.

Further Reading

For an academic treatment of Diet member compensation, electoral behavior, and the post-reform limits of the Japanese parliament, 『日本の国会議員 — 政治改革後の限界と可能性』 (Nihon no Kokkai Giin — Seiji Kaikaku-go no Genkai to Kanōsei (Japan's Diet Members: Limits and Possibilities After Political Reform)*)(外部サイト、新しいタブで開きます) (Shinsuke Hamamoto, Chūkō Shinsho) — available in Japanese — analyzes member behavior across four dimensions: electoral recruitment, election, policymaking, and political finance.

References

Act on the Salary, Travel, and Allowances of Members of the Diete-Gov Law Search (1947)

Act on the Grant of Legislative Research Expenses to Parliamentary Groups in the Diete-Gov Law Search (1953)

Act on Salaries of Secretaries to Members of the Diete-Gov Law Search (1990)

Outline of the Regulations on Reporting and Disclosing the Use of the Research, Public Relations, and Stay Expense and on Returning the BalanceHouse of Representatives (2025)

Bonuses Held at Current Level — Amended Salary Act PassesNikkei (2025)

Where Did the Former Allowance Go — Remaining IssuesTokyo Shimbun (2025)

Japan's Diet Seats: Third from the Bottom in the OECDTokyo Shimbun (2024)

Global Ranking of Parliamentary Salaries: 30 CountriesToyo Keizai (2022)

School Lunch SurveyMinistry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (2023)

2025 Party Subsidies: Distribution of ¥31.5 Billionnippon.com (2025)

Statistics cited in this article

  1. 1House of Representatives, Outline of the Regulations on Reporting and Disclosing the Use of the Research, Public Relations, and Stay Expense and on Returning the Balance(April 2025) Open source
  2. 2e-Gov Law Search, Act on the Salary, Travel, and Allowances of Members of the Diet(2025) Open source
  3. 3Jiji Press(December 16, 2025) Open source
  4. 4Financial Field(As revised April 2022) Open source
  5. 5Smart Senkyo Blog(2020) Open source
  6. 6House of Councillors: Working Conditions of Policy Secretaries(2025) Open source
  7. 7nippon.com(2025) Open source
  8. 8MEXT School Lunch Survey(FY 2023) Open source
  9. 9Tokyo Shimbun(2024) Open source
  10. 10Toyo Keizai(2022) Open source

Corrections

  1. Corrected which article sets the salary floor and which grounds the JR pass, and dropped an annual total that could not be verified.

    Why we got it wrong The 'not less than the highest general-service civil-servant salary' wording belongs to Article 35 of the Diet Act; Article 1 of the Salary Act sets the amounts themselves. The e-Gov page renders its text in JavaScript, so a fetch returns only 104 characters; the text was confirmed through e-Gov's law API. The JR pass rests on Article 10, while Article 8 covers travel on parliamentary business. The ¥1.4 billion annual total could not be checked because the magazine article cited is paywalled beyond its first page.

Questions to Reflect On

  1. If salary cuts risk turning politics into a rich person's game, can transparency and independent review serve as a substitute for cuts?
  2. How defensible is the institutional justification for keeping legislative research expenses undisclosed?
  3. How should we evaluate Japan's asymmetry — high compensation but few members per capita — from a representation standpoint?

Related Content

Get new columns by email

1-2 social structure analysis columns per week. Free to subscribe.

Join ISVD's activities?

Sign up to receive the latest research and activity reports. Feel free to reach out about collaboration or project participation.